Skip to main content

Common Core SS

What are the CCSS?

Common Core State Standards are educational standards that describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

Follow this link for more information on the district site.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

CCSS Video
Smarter Balanced

The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium is a multi-state consortium working collaboratively to develop a student assessment system aligned with a common core of academic content standards for English language arts/literacy and mathematics. Smarter Balanced assessments are designed to measure student progress toward college and career readiness. 

Follow this link for more information about the Smarter Balanced Assessment System on the CA Department of Education web site.